I’m a PC

I don’t own an iPhone.  I may be the only one, but I don’t care.  I don’t know what “apps” are, and I’m also confused by Macs.  I rarely use text messaging.  I feel much more of a connection to the small, bespectacled man in the commercials with Justin Long.  What I’m getting at here is, I’m not really a gadgety guy.  I didn’t even care for Inspector Gadget.  I was much more of a G.I. Joe and Hot Wheels kid…you know, stuff you don’t have to think about.  I do however own a GPS and an iPod, so I’m not completely out of the loop.  I’ve never really had a desire to be ahead of the technological curve, but I also don’t want to be left behind.  The exception to this is Bluetooth headsets.  I understand they make it safer to talk while driving, but I can’t fathom why people use them while walking around.  The day I become too lazy to lift up the very phone I’m speaking on, it’s time for a serious re-evaulation of my life.

This philosophy has recently manifested itself in my internet habits.  I’m on the internet all the time.  I’m constantly checking sports scores, fantasy teams, and participating in various online forums.  I get pretty much all of my news from Fark.com.  However, I was never really into the whole social networking craze.  I signed up for a Facebook account in 2005, but I never really used it until this year.  Now, I’m on it all the time.  It’s great for catching up with friends that you’ve lost touch with.  But as soon as I caught up with everybody with the whole Facebook thing, I’m about to get left in the dust again.  Case in point:  I twitter now (twitter.com/Eric_Shaw).  I don’t want to, but I feel I have no choice in the matter.  I’m pretty sure I don’t even do it right.  I still don’t know what all the @’s and #’s are for.  I don’t know how to do it from my phone, not that I would anyway.  And still, there are currently 11 people following me.  Two of them are people I don’t even know!  I present to you Exhibit A in the dumbification of America.

I think I’m done now though.  Once Facebook and Twitter are no longer cool, I’ll just get off the bus and wave as it drives away.  I’ll be content with my dinosaur of a cell phone that still has buttons, and my laptop that I actually have to type on.  Maybe then I’ll pick up an old refurbished iPhone for 25 bucks on eBay.  Maybe…

-ES

One Response to “I’m a PC”

  1. PC-heads unite! When I discovered there’s no right click on an imac, I pretty much decided it wasn’t for me =) But I do love my ipod.

Leave a Reply

